Can My Favorite Game of 2014 Be a Game From 2004?

It’s hard to do a year-end post like this without feeling the need to talk about the big topics of the year in some way and I certainly have many opinions about the current state of gaming that I love to spout off about (which you can see by following me on Twitter). But trying to broach just one of the many discussions to be had about games and gaming culture in 2014 in a post that’s supposed to be about the games I played feels like a good way to become sidetracked so I’m just going to put my feelings down on gaming in 2014 real quick and then move on to the fun stuff.

Fuck GamerGate.

Okay, with that out of the way, let’s move on to the games. Listed below, along with the dates that I beat them, are the games I played this year. I only listed the games that I definitively beat, though, for 2015, I’m going to start including games that I put significant amounts of time into even if I didn’t complete them.

This year, counting episodic games like The Wolf Among Us as one game, I beat 27 games, 8 of which came out in 2014 (and that’s counting The Wolf Among Us and The Walking Dead: Season Two as 2014 games even though they premiered in 2013). Compared to 2013, that’s 4 more games beaten overall (23 to 27) and 1 more game beaten that was released in the respective year (7 to 8).

So, without further ado, here are the games I beat in 2014:

An (*) after the game means I’ve beaten the game before this year.

Links will send you to pieces I wrote about said games.

Jan. 2 – Half-Life: Source (1998/2004)

Jan. 6 – The Walking Dead: Season One (2012)*

Jan. 6 – The Walking Dead: 400 Days (2013)

Jan. 25 – Stonerid (2013)

Feb. 4 – The Wolf Among Us Episode 2 (2014)

Apr. 19 – Injustice: Gods Among Us (2013)

May 20 – X-Men Origins Wolverine (2009)

May 21 – Race the Sun (2013)

May 26 – The Wolf Among Us Episode 3 (2014)

May 27 – The Wolf Among Us Episode 4 (2014)

May 30 – Max Payne (2001)

May 30 – Among the Sleep (2014)

June 1 – Gone Home (2013)

June 5 – Lego Marvel Super Heroes (2013)

June 15 – Lego Marvel Super Heroes (2013) 100%

June 20 – You Have To Win The Game (2012) 100%

July 13 – Transformers: War for Cybertron (2010)

July 13 – The Wolf Among Us Episode 5

July 13 –  The Wolf Among Us Season 1

July 18 – The Walking Dead Season Two Episode 1

July 20 – The Walking Dead Season Two Episode 2

July 21 – The Walking Dead Season Two Episode 3

July 22 – The Walking Dead Season Two Episode 4

July 25 – Batman: Arkham Asylum (2009)*

July 28 – Batman: Arkham Asylum (2009) 100%*

July 28 – Shadowrun Returns (2013)

Aug. 4 – The Banner Saga (2014)

Aug. 20 – Knightmare Tower (2014)

Aug. 25 – Broken Age (2014)

Aug. 26 – The Walking Dead Season Two Episode 5 (2014)

Aug. 26 – The Walking Dead Season Two (2014)

Sept. 6 – Fez (2012)

Sept. 6 – The Cave (2013)

Sept. 18 – Costume Quest (2010)

Sept. 22 – Transistor (2014)

Sept. 27 – The Yawhg (2014)

Oct. 21 – Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (2001)

Dec. 23 – Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (2004)

And my favorite game of 2014 is…

METAL GEAR SOLID 3: SNAKE EATER

Metal Gear Solid 3 Snake Eater The Fury

Can I pick a game made a decade ago for my 2014 GOTY?

Picking my favorite game of the year(which seems to be a formal requirement for people that play games) is way more difficult for me this year than it was in 2013. Last year, The Swapper stood out clearly as my favorite but this year no game grabbed my attention in the same way. The games I most enjoyed (Race the SunMax PayneGone Home, and Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater) all came out before 2014 and the games from 2014 that I really liked (Among the Sleep, The Walking Dead: Season TwoThe Banner Saga, Broken Age, and The Yawhg) didn’t stay with me as long or as strongly as a game that I would dub my “favorite”.

There were quite a few games that a lot of people have listed as their GOTY that I don’t really have any interest in (like Dragon Age: InquisitionFar Cry 4DestinyMiddle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor) and even more that I want to play that I just haven’t yet, either due to time or money constraints (Kentucky Route Zero: Act III, Alien: IsolationTelltale’s Game of ThronesTelltale’s Tales from the BorderlandsWolfenstein: The New OrderThe Uncle Who Works for NintendoCaptain Toad: Treasure TrackerSuper Smash Bros. for Wii U/3DSMario Kart 8The Last of Us: Left Behind80 Days, Metal Gear Solid V: Ground ZeroesShovel KnightHearthstoneDonkey Kong Country Returns: Tropical FreezeValiant Hearts: The Great WarMonument ValleyThis War of MineNidhogg, Year WalkEidolonLost ConstellationThe Terror Aboard the SpeedwellGlitchhikersCurtain, and so much indie and alt stuff that I couldn’t possibly list).

So, yeah… A lot of games I really liked but didn’t love and a lot of games I expect to like but haven’t played yet. So I don’t think I really have a 2014 Game of the Year…

Sort of an anticlimactic ending to a Game of the Year post… I guess this is really more of a “I should play more games” post… I guess you could go read my thoughts on Snake Eater.

Um…

Just go play Metal Gear Solid 3.

– Cam

You can follow me on Twitter at @CameronMWade to see me mock the Legend of Zelda series for being fan bait and then turn around and gush about how good Link Between Worlds is.

Leave a Reply

